Go Bananas

When bananas go on sale at the supermarket I like to stock up, usually buying close to 10 pounds. We eat them as snacks and my 10 month old can devour a whole one by herself;  but sometimes you have to try something different. Here are a few of my favorite banana inspired confectionery delights!

Before (or sometimes even after) bananas become very ripe, I’ll peel and cut them up into chunks and freeze them in a large tupperware. These are great for smoothies like this one, which I like to enjoy most mornings for breakfast (although I add 1 tbsp of peanut butter and 1/4 cup of quick oats for a bit of fiber and protein). For a healthier alternative to this amazing melt-in-your-mouth banana bread, you can try this banana protein muffin from a blog I just discovered, and whose recipes I can’t wait to make! If you have a sweet tooth like mine, this pinterest-inspired treat is sure to please, and doesn’t last long with my husband around. He also loves to create a pb&j banana roll-up similar to this one. This is also a sweet and simple banana “cupcake” that requires no baking skills at all.

I hope these sound good enough for you all to try (I have made each one and they are oh-so-delicious, and family and friend approved). Let me know what else you like to do with your bananas!

One thought on “Go Bananas

  1. Pingback: Another banana pancake please | lady on the mountain

Leave a comment